[Skip to content]

Nottingham - Nottinghamshire County Council Employees

Memorial to Nottinghamshire County Council Employees

UKNIWM Ref - 59401

Shire Hall, High Pavement, Nottingham. This alabaster memorial was erected 'in the spandrel of the arcade in the entrance to the Shire Hall', the Shire Hall then being the main offices of Nottinghamshire County Council. The building is now occupied by the National Centre for Citizenship and the Law (Galleries of Justice), the council's staff transferring over a period of years to County Hall, West Bridgford, after the Second World War. The Council agreed at a meeting on 29 April 1919 to erect a memorial to employees who had died in the war. The Council confirmed the design and cost ('not to exceed £200') at a meeting of the Standing Orders and General Purpose Committee on 27 July 1920. The memorial was designed by Harry Gill MSA, a Nottingham architect, and constructed and installed by Messrs Robert Bridgeman and Sons of Litchfield, Staffordshire. The employees included policemen serving with Nottinghamshire Constabulary. The names include that of Percy Mears whose name has been annotated, 'Has since returned'. The Council's Second World War memorial is also in the Shire Hall.

Memorial location
Names on Memorial

RJL Anstey - Reginald John L Anstey

AE Armitage - Albert Edward Armitage

JG Ballard - John George Ballard

John Becher - John Pickard Becher

H Bettison - Harold Bettison

C Bilbie - Claude Bilbie

AC Blench - Alfred Chapman Blench

V Bray - Vincent Bray

WC Brown - William Charles Brown

NB Brumby - Norman Bennett Brumby

CR Carter - Charles Richard Carter

HC Carter - Hedley Charles Carter

GE Chapman - George Ernest Chapman

H Coe - Herbert Coe

C Cursley - Charles Cursley

L Davies - Leonard Davies

EH Davison - Ernest Harold Davison

WH Frith - Willis Hirwin Frith

AE Garratt - Albert Edward Garratt

GP Goodall - George Percy Goodall

R Gosling - Richard Gosling

A Harris - Albert Edward Harris

FR Hayes - Frederick Richard Hayes

FJ Hinchliffe - Frederick James Hinchliffe

EH Hopkinson - Edward Hopkinson

JG Houldsworth - John Gordon Houldsworth

AS Jackson - Arthur Selby Jackson

SC Johnson - Samuel Charles Johnson

JA Jones - Joseph Alfred Jones

TA Kerry - Thomas Anthony Kerry

S Kettle - Stephen Kettle

CE Knight - Charles Ernest Knight

W Lowe - William Lowe

P Mears - Percy Mears

AH Mitchell - Albert Henry Mitchell

TA Peck - Thomas Alfred Peck

O Reilly - Owen Reilly

H Rollason - Harold Rollason

W Slater - Walter Slater

A Spowage - Arthur Spowage

J Tomlinson - James Tomlinson

HP Toon - Harold Phillips Toon

TC Whittingham - Thomas Cyril Whittingham

V Wilkinson - Vincent Wilkinson

W Willis - William Willis

JH Wilson - John Hardy Wilson

  • Memorial to Nottinghamshire County Council Employees
    Photograph by Rachel Farrand - Memorial to Nottinghamshire County Council Employees