[Skip to content]

The school was established in 1788 as the Unitarian Day School on High Pavement, Nottingham. It moved to premises on Stanley Road, Forest Fields, in 1895 then transferred to a new site on Nottingham's Bestwood Estate in 1955. The school became a sixth form college in 1975 when the comprehensive education system was introduced. The college was amalgamated with New College Nottingham in 1999 and moved to premises on Chaucer Street, Nottingham. The Bestwood site was demolished and redeveloped. A ROH is in Nottinghamshire Archives (ref SBX 282. 60/2)

Memorial location
Names on Memorial

A.W. Allen - Arthur William Allen

T.H. Ashby - Thomas Henry Ashby

L.G. Attewell - Leslie George Attewell

W.B. Bamkin - William Bishop Bamkin

H Bass - Harold Bass

A.R. Bavin - Albert Richard Bavin

L. Blanden - Lewis Blanden

F.J. Blasdale - Frederick John Blasdale

A. Boot - Arthur Boot

J.B. Buswell - John B Buswell

F.H.W. Carnell - Frederick Harry Wright Carnell

R Cartwright - Ronald Cartwright

S Cartwright - Stanley Cartwright

W.A. Cash - Wilfrid Arthur Cash

E.C. Cave - Ernest Cecil Cave

J.G. Cooke - James Gore Cooke

C. Dalton - Charles Dalton

W.A.B. Davis - Walter Arthur Bernard Davis

H.M. Dickinson - Herbert Mackintosh Dickinson

H. Fearn - Horace Fearn

C.E. Ferguson - Charles Edgar Ferguson

J.S. Firth - John Stanley Firth

H. Foster - Harold Foster

W. Frost - William Frost

A.H. Fry - Alfred Harold Fry

W.C. Fry - Walter Charles Fry

W. Garton - William Garton

A.B.L. Godson - Albert Bernard Lawrence Godson

G.H. Greaves - George Harold Greaves

F. Green - Frank Green

E. Hemborough - Edward Hembrough

A.O. Henson - Albert Owen Henson

R.B. Hibbs - R.B. Hibbs

E.D. Higham - Edward David Higham

F. Hill - Frank Hill

F.F. Hind - Frank Farmer Hind

J.P. Hodgkinson - James Percival Hodgkinson

W.E. Horner - William Ernest Horner

J. Horton - Joseph William Horton

W.H. Hutchinson - William Herbert Hutchinson

C.E. Jackson - Edward Cecil Jackson

J.G. Jackson - J.G. Jackson

V. Jackson - Albert Victor Jackson

A.C.L. Jepson - Albert Clarence Leonard Jepson

R.F. Keetley - Robert Frederick Keetley

P.J. Kent - P.J. Kent

W.A. Langsdale - William Anthony Langsdale

H. Lawson - Harry Lawson

E.A. Lowe - Ernest Archer Lowe

C. Marriott - C. Marriott

D.E. Marshall - Donald Ewan Marshall

A.E. Matthews - Arnold Ernest Matthews

E.O. May - Edgar Oliver May

L.A. Mayfield - Leonard Augustus Mayfield

S.G. McClean - Stuart Grundy McLean

C.H. Mercer - Claude Horace Mercer

W.J. Montgomery - William James Montgomery

L.S.A. Morel - Louis Sidney Amedee Morel

A.C. Morley - Arthur Cornelius Morley

E. Morley - Ernest Morley

S Morris - Sydney Morris

G.G. Oliver - George Gordon Oliver

W.H. Parrott - William Henry Parrott

R. Pepper - Roland Pepper

A.D. Pettigrew - Archibald Douglas Pettigrew

A.E. Phelan - Albert Edward Phelan

R.M. Plunkett - Reginald Michael Plunkett

E.C. Pool - Ernest Charles Pool

H.C. Raistrick - Henry Carr Raistrick

W.H. Ratcliffe - William Henry Ratcliffe

A.B. Raynes - Albert Brainerd Raynes

W. Robinson - William Robinson

P.H. Salisbury - Percy Harold Salisbury

E.C. Savidge - Edward Charles Savidge

D. Scanlon - Herbert Douglas Scanlon

L. Shrimpton - Lennox Dutton Shrimpton

M.H. Skevington - Maurice Herbert Skevington

W.M. Smalley - William Miles Smalley

M. Smedley - Marton Smedley

W Smedley - William Smedley

J F Smith - John Fletcher Smith

H Stevenson - H Stevenson

A Strawson - Algernon Harrison Strawson

R Thomas - R Thomas

F Timmans - Frank Timmans

A Toynton - Arthur Toynton

F H Weston - Frederick Herbert Weston

A White - A White

D Whittaker - D Whittaker

H Whittaker - Herbert Whittaker

W W Wibdy - William Walter Wibdy

A Wilkins - A Wilkins

L Windybank - Lionel Windybank