[Skip to content]

UKNIWM Ref - 27332

Formerly housed at John Player & Sons' Victorian factory in Radford, Nottingham, this memorial was transferred to Imperial Tobacco's Horizon site on the city's outskirts which opened in 1972 and closed in 2016. It is a bronze wall plaque with low relief lettering with a relief border of laurel garland. The inscription reads 'IN EVER GRATEFUL MEMORY OF ALL THOSE WHO WENT OUT FROM THE FACTORIES OF JOHN PLAYER & SONS BRANCH OF THE IMPERIAL TOBACCO COMPANY AND GAVE THEIR LIVES 1939-1945’. There is also a John Player & Sons Great War memorial (see elsewhere on this site). Nottingham City Council's Curator of Community History and World Cultures, Simon Brown, notes, 'It is our hope that they’ll be re-housed somewhere publicly accessible - Imperial Tobacco are working on that.'

Memorial location
Names on Memorial

PJ Abbott - Peter John Abbott

AJ Anthony - Arthur Jeffrey Anthony

H Ashmore - Harold Ashmore

DH Barnes - Douglas Harold Barnes

JS Beeley - John Stuart Beeley

GJ Beeton - George James Beeton

FK Bend - Frederick Kenneth Bend

T Birkett - Thomas Birkett

DL Blick - David Lionel Blick

R Bloor - Robert Bloor

JR Bonser - John Raymond Bonser

AM Bostock - Albert Meynell Bostock

S Bowles - Sam Bowles

S Bowmer - Stephen Bowmer

JT Brough - John Thomas Brough

RC Brown - Robert Clifford Brown

J Brown - J Brown

JG Bucknall - John Geoffrey Bucknall

H Cast - Harry Cast

EE Caswell - Ebborn Ernest Caswell

E Charles - Ernest Charles

R Clarke - R Clarke

S Claypole - Sidney Claypole

AL Cleaver - Arthur Leonard Cleaver

WH Cragg - William Henry Cragg

DG Cresswell - Denis George Cresswell

WS Cross - Walter Sydney Cross

L Danby - Leonard Danby

EC Davis - Ernest Clarence Davis

F Derry - Frank Derry

JR Drewry - John Richard Drewry

RW Elliott - Raymond William Elliott

J Else - John Else

SF England - Samuel Francis England

EC Fardon - Ernest Charles Fardon

CT Fletcher - Christopher Timothy Fletcher

TP Freshney - Thomas Freshney

L Freyne - Lawrence Freyne

L Fulford - Lionel Fulford

JS Gisborne - John Shelton Gisborne

JK Goslin - James Kenneth Goslin

RJ Green - Ronald John Green

G Green - G Green

GI Hardy - George Israel Hardy

J Hayes - John Hayes

AG Hill - Albert George Hill

LR Holehouse - Louis Raymond Holehouse

RA Hooton - Reginald Arthur Hooton

W Hopcroft - William Hopcroft

ECY Hunt - Edmund Hunt

S Hutchinson - Sydney Hutchinson

JP Jackson - John Peter Jackson

A Jarvis - Arthur Jarvis

R Kerry - Richard Kerry

GM King - Gordon Morton King

LC King - Leonard Charles King

A Langham - Albert Langham

AW Leach - Arthur William Leach

JA Leadbeater - James Arthur Leadbeater

F Lee - Frank Lee

KGA Lee - Kendrick George Arthur Lee

JE Lemon - John Edward Lemon

HA Mallett - Henry Arthur Mallett

F Martin - Frank Martin

HJ Mitchell - Horace John Mitchell

RGL Morley - Ronald George Lehman Morley

JA Murden - John Arthur Murden

W Oldershaw - William Oldershaw

EA Oldham - Edward Ashley Oldham

KJ Page - Kenneth John Page

D Palmer - Dennis Palmer

H Parker - Henry Parker

GCR Parnill - George Charles Richard Parnill

AJ Parr - Arthur John Parr

KC Pattison - Kenneth Clifton Pattison

JH Redgate - John Harry Redgate

FE Reed - Frank Edward Reed

PJN Robinson - Patrick John Noble Robinson

WH Roe - William Henry Roe

W Senior - Wilfred Senior

GA Sissons - George Alan Sissons

AC Smedley - Albert Clifford Smedley

HW Smith - Harold Walter Smith

R Spencer - Reginald Spencer

A Spurr - Alan Spurr

J Stanley - John Stanley

A Steventon - Arthur Steventon

JA Steventon - John Ashley Steventon

JD Suffolk - John Dennis Suffolk

AR Swinn - Albert Reginald Swinn

RH Tilley - RH Tilley

J Tillson - Jack Tillson

HP Toon - Harold Purday Toon

JCK Turner - John Christopher Kettle Turner

P Vernon - Peter Vernon

RGC Walton - Robert Gordon Clifford Walton

JH Ward - James Henry Ward

DH Watts - Douglas Haig Watts

JH Webb - John Henry Webb

JG Whitworth - John Gibson Whitworth

EF Williamson - Eric Ford Williamson

JA Willis - James Albert Willis

V Wood - Vera Wood

E Wright - E Wright

J Wright - John Wright

BGD Yapp - Bernard Geoffrey Dick Yapp

  • Courtesy of Simon Brown and Nottingham City Council -